TIMELINE OF MY MORNING

  • 4:30 AM – Woke up to Genesis crying. Nudged Matt to remind him of his loving plan to take care of her for me during the night. He gets up. I (blissfully) go back to sleep.
  • 6:15 AM – Wake up again to her crying. Matt, already up for work, tells me he’s got it and that I should go back to sleep. I decide to stay up for a bit and pump and then go back to sleep.
  • 6:30 AM – Start to read an article about students at MIT dropping pianos every year on the last day students can drop classes.
  • 6:31 AM – Learn from said article that there is a student at MIT named Tom Moriarty.
  • 6:50 AM – Finish pumping, text Matt to tell him about Moriarty and say we should all be worried.
  • 6:51 AM – Reply text from Matt: “Go back to sleep.”
  • 9:00 AM – Wake up again to her crying. Celebrate the fact that it is NINE A.M!
  • 9:05 AM – Go to get her out of bed and discover Matt’s secret to helping her sleep longer (please see video below)

THINGS I WANTED TO BE WHEN I GREW UP

  • A princess, discovered a la The Princess Diaries
  • A famous singer a la Celine Dion
  • Some kind of powerful business woman who lives in a penthouse apartment in a big city and has an impressive collection of exotic fish. (It’s impressive if you’re successful right? If all you have is fish it becomes…less impressive.)
  • A Wife
  • A  stay at home mom

THINGS I ACTUALLY BECAME

  • I think we all know the answer to this one.
  • Still waiting for the Big Revelation that my dad’s family is actually some old Italian royalty and that we have a kick ass villa waiting for us on a remote island in the Mediterranean.

WHY I’D BE A GOOD STAY AT HOME MOM

  • I have great ideas for ways to keep the house clean.
  • I have great ideas for ways to manage meals.
  • I have grand visions of having impressive sit down dinners prepared when Matt gets home and sitting down and eating as a family with the kid(s), then maybe going for walks together or playing games.
  • I am way better at staying in touch with friends & family when I have time during the day.

HOW MATERNITY LEAVE HAS TAUGHT ME I NEED TO BE A WORKING MOM.

  • Please reference the list above and notice how many times I say “ideas” and “visions”
  • I’ve been home since MLK week in January….none of those things have happened.
  • Once I tried to clean the floors the way I would want them to be cleaned. It took me two hours and then I needed to lie down and watch “Supernanny”.
  • The sad part is…it wasn’t even all the floors in the house.

THINGS I’M TRYING TO GET GENESIS TO LIKE

  • Singing (especially Celine Dion)
  • Sleeping (especially for long periods of time…especially at night.)
  • Sitting (especially since she’s almost 12 pounds now and carrying her around all day tires out a certain someone’s back.)
  • Being read to (especially while sitting in the glider in her room)
  • Sorry that last one didn’t start with S.

COOL THINGS THAT HAPPENED THIS WEEK

  • My brother Nate, who currently lives and works in Germany, had his “English Circle Time” observed by people outside of his preschool and they were impressed.
  • My sister Hannah won $500 for her non-fiction piece in a writing contest.
  • My brother Paul got put on a new team and the client loves him.
  • My blog got the most pageviews of it’s whole life yesterday thanks to the magic of Facebook.
  • Matt and I started Weight Watchers and went to our first meeting.

WHAT I THOUGHT OF MY FIRST WW MEETING

  • It’s ironic and cruel that you have to walk past both a See’s Candy and a frozen yogurt place to get to the meeting.
  • There are way more fat people in San Jose than I expected.
  • The leader made some good points, she just kind of  sounded like she was talking to Kindergarteners when she did. But she lost 140 pounds so I let it slide.
  • No matter what, no matter where, if you are in a meeting situation of any kind there is going to be That Guy Who Never Shuts Up.
  • That Guy also has a girlfriend whose face he spends awkwardly caressing when he isn’t contributing his Very Important Points to the group.
  • Overall…I think this will be a good thing.

WHY THIS WEEKEND IS GOING TO BE AWESOME

  • It is the last time my friend is going to work her job at a frozen yogurt place and we are going to take advantage of that!
  • Matt and I are going out to dinner without Genesis.
  • Matt and I are going to see Jim Gaffigan in SanFrancisco.
  • All of those things are happening on the same day!

3 thoughts on “Friday Lists

  1. Please keep going to WW. I really don’t care about the weight loss. I just want to hear more about That Guy and his girlfriend.

Leave a comment